We are excited to announce the completion of renovations and reopening of our visitor Center!
The renovation project included the expansion of the building’s main entrance, and the installation of automatic front doors that will comply with ADA standards for accessible design. The entrance will also be more stroller friendly, making it easier for families to navigate the building.
Visitor Center Plaza Expansion
In addition to the improvements being made to the building itself, the surrounding plaza will also be enlarged and enhanced. A new 30' x 30' area will provide a larger gathering space for tours, and will help reduce congestion on high visitation days. The larger terrace will also feature sitting walls and benches to provide additional seating.
Membership Kiosk Expansion
The membership kiosk will be relocated within the plaza and will be expanded to enable staff to welcome visitors more efficiently. New plantings will be added. When finished, the area will provide a pleasant, relaxing space for visitors to gather and linger.
Morris Arboretum wishes to thank longtime Arboretum friend, Edith Dixon for making these enhancements possible. This attractive new area will allow the Arboretum to accommodate a broader audience and its improved functioning will enhance the experience of every visitor.
The building that now serves as the Arboretum’s Visitor Center first served as the gardener’s cottage, carriage house and stables. Built by Theophilus P. Chandler, Jr. in 1888, it was constructed from the same coursed and rusticated granite, irregular plan and roof style as Compton. In the 1980's this structure was renovated and adaptively re-used as the George D. Widener Education Center. The Shop at Morris Arboretum was added to the front of the structure and a seasonal café (Compton Café) to the rear for visitors’ enjoyment.